It Started Down Under

By dirk

Master Graduation Ceremony

Today was a big day.

First of all I had a meeting with the CEO of United Brains; an organization that advises young entrepreneurs and students how to get their projects and products into the real world by making use of the MKB (local small businesses). We talked for almost two hours about my graduation project and will take steps to try and take it to the market.

After lunch I had a painful moment; I had to wave my student software privileges goodbye and format my laptop from all university licenses. With an empty laptop I visited the photo exposition in the main building and listened to some music until my parents-in-law arrived at the university.

When my own parents had also arrived, I changed into my fancy suit with tie (first time ever I wore a tie) and got ready for my graduation ceremony. Together with 15 other Master graduates I waited for the professors to arrive in their official clothing. The ceremony took about 1,5 hours and everyone was discussed individually by their coaches. We took a photo with the professors just outside the 'blauwe zaal' before we continued the party in 'de zwarte doos' with drinks.

After a great day I went home, had dinner and arrived half an hour late at choir rehearsal. I was received with a big 'lang zal hij leven' (congratulations song) and we continued the rehearsal as if everything was normal. Which is probably right since nothing changed except that I now have a title.

Dirk van Erve MSc (Master of Science)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.