Path finding

When my spirits are low I have to get outside so today I headed off for a long walk. My objective was a footpath across farmland a few miles away. The route was clearly marked as a right of way on the map but when I got off the bus I could see that the access had been obliterated. I had to decide whether to persist with my plan or resort to a road walk instead. I opted for the former although it carried some risk namely no-way-through or irate landowner.

The latter appeared on the scene as I crossed the first field. I heard the quad bike roaring behind me and a shout of "Oi, where d'you think you're going?" as a red-faced farmer, emitting puffs of steam, launched himself towards me. An abbreviated rendition of the encounter follows:

Me: "I am following the public footpath marked on the map."
Him: "Oh no you're not, get off my fucking land!"
Me: "This is a public right of way and I am legally entitled to use it."
Him: "There hasn't been a footpath here for 40 years!"
Me: "It's marked on the map as a public right of way, look..."
Him: "How old is that map?"
Me: "Let me see - 2009."
Him: "It's closed, go back the way you came."
Me: "There's nothing to show it's closed so I'll carry on."
Him: "Oh no you don't, this is my land."
Me: "I'm not disputing that but I have every right to follow the path."
Him: "How would you like it if I walked across your garden?"
Me: "If there was a public right of way I could not stop you."
Him: "You didn't ask permission."
Me: "I don't need to, it's a right of way."
Him: "Suppose I'd had milking cows in this field?"
Me: "Then I would have taken great care not to disturb them."
Him: "What if there was a bull?"
Me: "There isn't and it's illegal to keep a dangerous bull on a public path."
Him [running out of objections now!]: "Is that dog licensed?
Me: "Dog licences were abolished years ago." [1987 actually]
Him: "When was that dog last wormed?"
Me: "He is checked by the vet twice a year."
Him: "All right then you can carry on but without the dog."
Me: "Oh come on, what would you do with an unattached dog?"
Him: "You're on the wrong route, it's up there - and you won't get through."
Me: "Then I go to the next farm and take the track to the road."
Him: "All right then."

Bested, he retired and I did as I said. I felt pleased that my calm assertiveness had won the day and besides, the detour from the planned route enabled me to visit this much older farm site, Castell Hendre Wen, an iron age ring fort, in which an extended family or clan would have defended themselves and their animals from intruders. The same instinct to protect land and property persists today. It's understandable but if only landowners realised (some do) that when footpaths are clearly marked and accessible walkers will pass rapidly through their property without needing to bumble around trying to find the way or to damage fences and walls trying to get through. The old footpaths are part of our rural heritage and date from the time when everyone travelled on foot and naturally took the most direct ways between farms, villages, schools and churches.

The ring fort measures 75m. by 84m. and is very nearly circular with raised banks that have been extensively burrowed into by badgers and rabbits. There's an entrance on the northwest side in the direction of the sea. I wasn't able to take a picture of the whole thing but there's an aerial shot here.







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.