As She Sees It

By AsSheSeesIt

Bellingham with Annie

My long weekend began with a morning ride on the train to Seattle followed up with a bus ride on up to Bellingham, Washington where I was met by the talented and welcoming Artistannie and her equally nice husband.
They scooted me off to a wonderful lunch in a cafe that was hosting painting by Anne. She does lovely work. The discussion turned to favorite subjects and I mentioned yard art. That made the decision easy on how to spend the rest of the day.
After browsing through three floors of books at the independent bookstore next to the cafe we headed off to Big Rock Garden Park where we wandered the trails and admired the sculptures that are placed through out the garden. We took lots of pictures, but in the end it was this curling park that won the day for me.
I sometimes think nature has a little laugh at our expense. I think she says, "Go ahead, try your best, but I will create an art piece from a single curl of bark and a show of green moss."
I ended the day with my cousin, we had dinner at Pepper Sisters, it was good but not great.

Oh - on the journey up I saw too many ducks, geese and cormorants to count. There were two bald eagles, a flock of sandhill cranes and a couple small flocks of Tundra Swans. I also saw three deer grazing in a field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.