Grumpy Old Git

By GrumpyOldGit

Taken for the Sky

Up nice and early this morning, before sunrise, I only had about one hour sleep, despite going to bed at 2200. Both of my knees were injected with methyl prednisolone yesterday and this tends to mess up the sleep pattern, which it did last night.

Just before the Sun rose at 0545, the sky was a cloudless blue from horizon to horizon, but by 0700 the Eastern side of the sky was quite thick cloud, with blue sky to the West. I thought, what a beautiful example this is of the sunshine warming the frosty ground and the warm air rising until it cools, condenses and forms clouds. I then thought, hey I can make a Blip from this. By the time I came back with the camera and a very wide-angle lens (90º vertical by 112.6º Horizontal), at about 0720, the process had progressed so that there was cloud across most of the sky. I had missed the best picture, but it was still possible to see what was happening, so here it is, with the picture exposed for the sky.

Despite the fact that the Sun was visible in the viewfinder, it is not present in the picture, the viewfinder for the D3 when working with this 12mm lens, shows more than 100% of the picture; about 1-2% more is shown, than is photographed.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.