Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Shepherds Hill

Just to the south of King Edward Park is Shepherds Hill. There stands the remains of military fortifications and a rather commanding view over the coastline. This is the view looking north towards Nobbys and Newcastle Beach looking over King Edward Park. If you go large you might see Nobbys headland and lighthouse, Fort Scratchley, the Ocean Baths and Children's Pool. Do you know I have just discovered that many people call the Children's Pool the Canoe Pool but I will save the explanation for another day. I think there are also tunnels that went from Shepherds Hill to Fort Scratchley or perhaps they were just mine tunnels. There was also a RAAF radar station there established during WWII. It was later moved. What you can see here in the foreground is just one of the concrete structures.

I am not really going to mention it in case the weather gods hear me but I think the weather is clearing. There was even a reasonable sunset tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.