Fi's Foibles

By purpleicious

Rumbled

"Sorry Mum, I know you said that I wasn't ever to go on your bed unless invited, but I thought I'd just keep it warm for you. And I did do my best to rumple the covers into a nice comfy nest for us to snuggle into - I'll even budge over so that you can get in beside me. You don't think that looks comfortable? Tell you what, I'm a dab hand at yanking duvet covers off (I get lots of practice with playing tug-of-war), so if you like, I'll help to change the bed later. No, that doesn't work for you? Well surely you'll forgive me if I put on my best hang-dog expression & flash my big brown eyes at you - and even tremble a bit as if I'm truly penitent ?.?"

"Yes Jack, we could so easily be sucked in & end up wrapped around your little finger paw, but that's not how it's gonna be"

Now that he's feeling more established, the battle for supremacy begins: it's tricky finding a balance between helping him to feel secure & making him realise who is boss, & he's proving to be a stubborn little chap (no surprise there then), particularly when it comes to moving from where he's not meant to be; but we know that for all our sakes he has to learn his place in 'our' pack. So let battle commence - starting with firmly removing him from my bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.