The Tower of Song

In my early twenties, having accepted that I was not going to be
the next Beatles, I was writing poems and songs for fun.

Yesterday (no, I didn't write that one) while playing my guitar
an old song of mine, written around that time, came back to me.
Here, for what it's worth, are the lyrics.



Ordinary Day

It was an ordinary day
there were no signs to say it would
charge burnt out lives
change history
but look at what it's done to me

She had a flower in her hair
her feet tucked up beneath the chair
I said I liked the way she sat
I don't remember what she said

It's one of those cool and happy times
I feel that the earth is mine
and though I may be wrong I'm sure
that I will never touch the floor

You're not going to spoil it
but if you do
I'll always forgive you
but I'll hate you a little too
(oo oo)


It was an ordinary day
there were no signs to say it would
charge burnt out lives
change history
but look at what it's done to me


Tower of Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.