Equinoctial weather

I originally thought I would call this picture frustration, and then this title came to me.

Went to Wellington yesterday morning for a meeting which unfortunately lasted until mid afternoon. During the day, the rain and the winds and the clouds had varied considerably, but were not too bad. However, by the time we reached the airport to check in the clouds were really low. I was just too late to get onto what turned out to be the last flight to Auckland for the day. Part of the problem was that Auckland airport had been marginal or even closed for most of the day. Rechecked in twice and then at about 1830, they cancelled all flights to Auckland, and as it turned out everywhere else. No planes could land so no planes available to go after those on the ground had left.

Two very nice friends in Ngaio, inner city suburb of Wellington, happily provided me with a room (the hotels were all full by the time I tried to get a room). Their home is high in the hills looking over Wellington Harbour, normally a glorious view. Last night I could not see beyond the edge of their deck! After being fed and watered well, I retired early to my room for a bit of reading before sleep.

Looked out over the city, and FRUSTRATION. The lights of the city were unblocked by any cloud or rain. The sky had just a few wispy clouds. As a result of four to five hours in the late afternoon early evening, hundreds of travellers (including me) were stuck in Wellington. Typical equinoctial weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.