Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

One room, two tables, two vases of flowers

Thought I'd do a blip of the less-than-perfect lilies, but to distract your eye away from their sorry state I included the fine painting behind them. But actually, through half-closed eyes, in a good light, with a tail wind and with a bit of an effect on them, they don't look too bad!

I've just worked out that we've had this painting for almost 30 years! I can't believe it, as I remember the buying of it like it was yesterday. It's by a friend who lives in Addles (Oz) and she had just recently turned her hand to painting, not having done any art at school at all. We were at the preview of her homecoming exhibition (in Gizzo, NZ), saw this from afar, and rushed home to measure up. Would it fit? Well, actually, it only just made it, it was about one foot from the floor, and maybe another foot from the ceiling. We were in a small cottage at the time, but with a wall taken out, this could be seen from a distance as you came in the door. We sold a piece of furniture which had been in that spot, and that half paid for it. We never regretted splashing out.

When I read in articles where people are asked what they'd rescue in a house fire, and they say - grandpa's war medals/family photos/ passports/ jewelry etc - well, I'd carry this out. It might prove somewhat problematic, but I hear that people do amazing things when the adrenalin kicks in. Mind you, I now have another large painting to rush back in and save!

Although it's a beautiful day, I am to spend much of it on the phone, ringing car insurance places to see who will temporarily insure two Aussies to drive our car while we drive theirs in Oz. Who would think this would be a problem?? They drive on the same side of the road, for a start, unlike Europeans. BTW, there is NO problem us driving their car!! (Just a small rant, then).

Also need to ring my mobile phone lot. I've been getting lots of unwanted texts and last month I had 13 of them costing ME £1.50 each! I had foolishly entered a competition, and hidden away in the small print on the website (which of course you don't read in the excitement of getting three symbols the same) is (apparently) the brief mention that they can give your number to millions of scammers other companies who will contact you with spurious offers that you have to try and stop. And it's legal. Well, it's not illegal - not quite the same thing? Beware!

I think glass vases, where you can see the water level sinking, are probably better for people with no green fingers...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.