Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bronze Chancellor

For my first blip from Huddersfield, I've stuck with the obvious option that presents itself when you walk out of the railway station.

Harold Wilson was born in the town, and although he's best known for his two spells as Prime Minister, in Bradford we remember him as the first Chancellor of the University of Bradford, a position he held from 1966-1985, a considerably longer spell in offce than his eight years as PM. This statue was designed by Ian Walters.

Wilson was Prime Minister when I was born, and the Britain that I grew up in was one undergoing a transformative liberalisation of society peppered with economic austerity, power shortages and industrial unrest. Other than vivid memories of power cuts and candle-lit games of Monopoly I expect I was oblivious to most that.

I only had a quick walk through the town on the way to and from campus, and although I snatched a few quick images of buildings, sculptures and canals en route, it was my first encounter of the day that stood out.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.