MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Rio Itaúnas

Though the city of forro was nearly empty and all the açaí huts lay empty, we found a tour outfitter who took us out in an old wooden canoe. The tree hadn't capsized in 7 years, he told us. And though it took on some water through the trunk, it worked just fine as we cruised the black waters of the Itaúnas River.

I found I could possibly work as a translator, though I will have to learn some of the English (maybe even German) names for many of the animals. We saw various types of birds and herons and even some bats! It was peaceful, of course, and very beautiful! Even my sunburns couldn't keep me down! (They weren't bad sunburns, but the fact I was wearing this just makes it so much better.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.