meanderbestofem

By Meandertall

Hunter and prey

No apologies for this blip. Firstly I need to express that this comes with mixed feelings. On one hand this truly beautiful, powerful hunter turned quarry, is deserving of awe and respect. I would prefer to think of him out there in the wild depths than hanging off the weigh station scales. On the other hand I eat fish. So it is a luxury to foster those feelings. And although this has been caught in a competition setting , it will be smoked and yield a lot of food for the crew and their whanau.

This is a blue marlin and weighed in at 212 kg with the lure that got him. An hour later came another blue marlin. Quite a bit bigger. 325 kg. The largest ever caught in NZ waters is apparently 375 kg.

I had images that show these magnificent critters showing their size and , actually they were huge, but you'll have to take my word. This shot says something else that I wanted to say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.