Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

Dark & Light

I'm never disappointed by a quick nip into the Burrell if I happen to be walking past. As I've explained before this is now no longer to view the exhibits it's to photograph people. The Staff now recognize me as a regular and I have had to explain why I am apparently hooked on the museum. I've promised to bring in some images.

I liked the contrasting colouring of these two young women and how much they appeared to connect with particular paintings. They also remind me I must watch Mullholland Drive again soon. From memory of the layout I think they might be looking at one of the two Degas paintings of women bathing.

I have been quiet on the personal front of late, although I had intended this to be a journal of sorts. There's been some pretty vile stuff happening at work and I didn't really want to whinge on about it, as I come here to think happy thoughts. I have been off for a few weeks because of the stress (my GP was actually good enough to put work-related stress on the certificate, making clear I'm not ill, which has legal implications for an employer). Suffice to say academia and bullying are intimate friends. There might be a different path for me - shall give that some thought in the coming months. I know everyone has work crap to deal with and I really know how lucky I am to have an interesting job...but it's a pants situation. But back to it on Monday.

I have a nice weekend with friends to look forward to first.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.