Covered in Bees

By PaulFS

A High Horizon

The sun sets on another working week (with a nod and apologies to all those who work weekends for our convenience).

I'm now enjoying a relaxing beer and looking forward to getting up at 6am tomorrow to drive up to The Lakes. Helvellyn from Thirlmere is the route, via a Little Chef (needs must), and I'm really looking forward to recharging the batteries.

If you told someone who didn't know, that the most relaxing thing you can do is go walking for hours on end, they'd think you were crazy (maybe they're right). I do appreciate fitness, location, disability, may factor into it, and walking isn't for everyone.

There have been many times in the past when problems, inconsequential or otherwise, have been neatly solved or put into perspective, when I've allowed myself the space to think. I think a physical space is vital. A distance from the clutter and 'noise' of everyday life that we've allowed into our personal worlds.

When people meditate, they're giving themselves that mental space, and I think that's what walking is. Other people will find exactly the same space in fishing, running, cycling, painting, music, photography.

Wherever you find your space, it's an essential tool in getting perspective.

Can't wait.

Have a great weekend Blippers. :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.