Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Woodland Decay

Finished work early today, so intended to go to a nearby nature reserve with the camera - but things didn't go quite as planned. Firstly I printed directions - only to find the printer was jammed and I had already shut down the PC. "No problem" I thought "should be easy to find" - half hour later having gone round in a circle I gave up and headed to Guildford and Dapdune Wharf, but that was closed. So carried on to Merrist Wood - another nature reserve. This time I followed signposts ... and ended up in a college grounds. (You would have thought that after living in the area for 20 years I'd know my way round by now).

By now I was getting rather fed up, so headed for home and a place I knew would offer some relaxation and photo opportunities: the Basingstoke Canal at Deepcut. I wandered through the surrounding woods there for 2-3 hours happily snapping trees and mosses, and soaking up the unseasonable sunshine.

I saw this tree stump on the way back to the car, and just loved its form, the way its roots clung to the hillside and the texture of the decaying wood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.