LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

The Linotype Machine in Aberdeen

Beautiful day in Aberdeen. Sun was shining and I was sat outside the offices of Aberdeen Journal's who publish the Press and Journal and Evening Express. It was like a suntrap and I had to shade my forehead when sat outside or I would've got sunburn. In Scotland!....In Aberdeen!...In the North East!...In March!

This is one of the old Linotype Machines that sits in the reception. Operators used to sit at these machines and set out the editorial and advertising copy for the newspapers. Introduced in the early 1900s and were only replaced at the start of the 1980s.

Only had the blackberry with me and the glare of the sunshine affecting the colours, but this one had sepia written all over it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.