Fire in the Morning Sky

Looking out into the dark of the early morning, I was greeted with fog but still decided to gather my things, have a cuppa and watch for a little lightening in the sky. Just after 6.30am I headed off to the petrol station with my eyes on the sky, it was still dark and foggy. Not really sure how the morning was going to unfold, not really sure what direction to head in, I chose the east as then I could leave my decision of north or south just for a little longer - it was the right decision. As I was heading towards the main road the sky lightened, slowly through the darkness were layers of softly lit pink which grew stronger and stronger, I then chose to go north and headed to the beach.

The estuary was quiet and the tide had just turned to go out, birds were still waking as the pine trees rustled in the warm gentle breeze. I turned towards the sand dunes to see such vibrance in the sky, my steps became faster as I anticipated the scene ahead of me - the waves were quiet today but sounded quite close, the smell of the sea air was carried through the air. I perched myself on the highest sand dune I could find and watched the sunrise unfold.

It gained momentum with much vibrance and fire with the early stages being the best, as it didn't last for long. From strong pinks, reds and golds changing to soft pinks, greys and blues - the sun broke through and then was covered in cloud until this afternoon.

A warm day ahead of us, more like summer with a hot gusty nor west wind - I've been inside doing a few house jobs after my early morning start.

Hope your all having a good weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.