EdinburghFoody

By EdinburghFoody

Making snacks - Kerala style

Cottage industries abound here. Seemingly ordinary houses turn out to have thriving cottage industries going on within them. Yesterday, we saw how rubber bands are made - not something I'd thought about before - and today snacks.

So this is quite possibly where your Bombay mix started out. This guy has a huge vat of oil over a wooden fuelled fire. He slices the banana (plantain I think actually) then fries them to make banana chips. In the next room, peanuts were being fried, another Bombay mix. They are all then package up and shipped goodness knows where.

I probably make it sound large, but it wasn't. Probably about 20 people in all.

Last full day here today. So may not have the chance to blip for a few days. We're going on the Backwaters on a house boat. I'll catch up when I can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.