David J. Rose

By djrose007

Game Dog or Gamecock!

What a great day it's been.
The postie brought a package this morning and it was two survival packs for Avro Vulcan Crew seats. I nipped into town to a material shop Marlane uses (More Than Fabrics) and bought 4 pieces of firm foam to fill where the dinghy and other survivable gear would normally be fitted.
The chap got the foam and told me it would be £18.00 but while he was cutting it I told him it was for the Jet Age Museum as the lower crew seats, in the nose of XM569, are bare metal. When he had finished he said that as it was for a good cause he would only charge £10.00. What a lovely bloke.

The survival packs were sent to me by the Vulcan Operating Team, this is the team responsible for the operations and maintenance of Vulcan XH558, I think I might have mentioned this before!

After Marlane and I fitted the foam into the packs I took them along to the Brockworth Court barn where they do the restoration.
The photo is a Gamecock that has taken 20 years to build from scratch, brilliant piece of engineering by the Jet Age Museum restoration engineers.
The starboard wing is going to be left uncovered so the workings and structure can be seen. It was the last open cockpit biplane operated by the RAF.

By the way, can you spot Jonty?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.