Beginning to feel ruffled

With a lot of work outstanding (letters, a couple of reports, a paper to write, and a brief of evidence to amend) this weekend was always going to be a continuation of the working week. So I set the alarm for an earlyish run, and went out in a slight drizzle. Very cloudy and misty rain meant photo opportunities were limited. I did get the obligatory photo while on my run.

Needing a break outside late this afternoon, I decided to have a walk on the beach with the telephoto lens. Started with pictures of the cliff face, then a gull or two, and then some oyster catchers, black and pied. Finally, a couple of heron. After coming together as one flew away from my first appearance, they then went in different directions and I followed this one.

In my enthusiasm as it successfully darted its beak into the water (on two occasions), I had unsteady hands and the result was blurred. Of the pictures I took, I have chosen this one, because its got the best focus and sharpness. The wind had just gusted past, blowing the head and neck feathers. Worse followed, and then a few minutes later it was calm again.

In my blipfolio, can be seen the photo which dear S asked me to take and wanted me to blip as it is so not my usual. Too much so, and another heron won my choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.