Good fun

This is my idea of good fun.

Some uphill, rocky bits and on this occasion plenty of nor'west wind. So much I was nearly upended and tipped unceremoniously off the track a couple of times. Still good fun ;-)

A very full hut but I ended up in the top bunk above my mate the hut warden in their quarters. Someone else got a mattress and I got a room with only one other person in it. Win, win.

A brick bat to the Scouts. Of all people I'd expect them to lead by example and turn up with hut passes for the adults and kids. But no, they clearly thought they could ignore the DOC (Department of Conservation) hut pass system. They also clearly didn't expect a hut warden. Really poor ethics.

After a wee rest some of us had plenty of exploring and scrambing stuff . Mt Sommers and the Woolshed Creek area is old volcanic rock and unlike the geology and geomorphology we normally experience. Like much of the rest of our land it has significant faults through it too. Waterfalls, pool, water caves, rock formations, big open tussock lands, steep rock and a big gorge.

So much fun :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.