Panta Rei

By ChiaraD

Nonna Rosa

I would like to itroduce you all to my superamazing granny. (which is nonna in italian). Her name is Rosa (or Rosina) which is the italian name for Rose. I think she's turned 89 about a month ago. can you imagine it, having lived 89 years? sitting around and watering flowers with all those memories in the brain. I don't think i can imagine it. Is there even enough space in our brains for all those memories? surely we select stuff, but still, 89 years is a loooong, loooong time. means you've lived 1068 months. you've seen 267 times the 4 seasons. and if we assume that at least an interesting thing happens to you every day, which i hope it does, you've had 32485 exciting experiences in your brain. now, that is an awful lot of interesting things!
I excuse my abuse of numbers, I am a physicist after all, and number are so useful if we think a little bit about them, they give us so much more perspective on simple facts of life. for example, after this wee reflection I doubt i will feel bored today, just thinking about how many exciting experiences i will have anyway in a few years time!

Anyway, the post was meant to be about my granny, so i will talk a bit bout her now. i've spent a lot of time with her since i was born, she cooked for me a lot and looked after me all the time and she's now the only grandparent I have left. Since i moved to edinburgh we've been exchanging letters and her letters are just the most amazing thing in the world. she's wise and she knows it even tho she's aware of her limits, she's a simple woman but pretty clever and she's very kind. and god, i don't know how she does it, but she knows me so well. I got a letter from her just a week ago and I will now take time to respond. I don't remember where but i've heard that there's more connection between my generation and two generations ago, instead of the one just before me, it's true in my case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.