DON'T EXPECT TO SEE A DEER WHEN YOU EXPECT TO SEE A DEER

or a fire-lizard for that matter.
Yesterday evening Piet Hein proposed to rise early this morning, walk a path to the Forellenhof and from there to the Taufstein (stone with a hole in it to baptize) and go our way back through the fairy tale forest.
It was not really that early! When we were sitting on a bench near the Forellenhof (restaurant) and when he asked how shall we proceed I answered that I wanted to visit the excavation of the village Schmeessen in Brüggefeld. Earlier we had learned that every summer a professor from Australia comes there with students to dig up the foundations of the middle-aged village. One only see heaps of stones but there are photos and texts for further information. Coming there I saw two persons with a dog and a plastic bag in their hands walk there and then they kneeled at a groove. Curiously I walked towards them to see what they intended to do. They explained that in the groove they had seen many toads and because of the thick black farmer's plastic the toads could not come out again and that they came now to rescue them. I wanted to tell them that if they put some branches in the groove they could come out, but in some way the words in german did not come out.
And the reason was that I saw an opportunity to take pictures.
What an awfully many toads there were, two by two, the males on the back of the females. They released the toads in the pond nearby. The pond where in summer dragonflies float above the water!!!
I made a not to myself that when I have my tiny pond and no toad would come I could find some here. Or not? I am not sure to disturb the animals in that way.
My intuition, if I ever could know how that works, lead me to the exact place where my blip was found. There was a statue in a garden on our walk and that represented 3 deers!


My haiku:

Find the solution
Always looking for the best
Sometimes there is none

And the proverb:

Keep cool: it will be all in a hundred years.

Edit: The males hold on the back of the females.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.