midwife crisis

By lulubelle

We only like the nice lady....

Fine hazy warm day, which was totally taken over by cycling. Hubs has recently been upping the anti with the bike miles and I felt the need to 'improve'. Why do I get so competitive around him? My normal 7 -15 km was starting to sound paltry. So after my casual remark that 30 km sounded like a good figure to go for, I found myself off for a West Cork adventure on 2 wheels, armed with a bag of cashew nuts, a bottle of water, 2 banana's and a husband that's much fitter than me!
We had a lovely day, but what a mean old headwind, which seriously added an extra ache to my aching legs and to the wildly windswept hair do! A helmet is required soon for health and hairdo reasons!
Took so many pictures that it was again tricky to decide, but I really liked these triplet lambs enjoying the sunshine, the green grass and the protection of their mum. They were looking at Mike with a suspiciousness that was well founded. When he had sheep on his farm there was always something that needed cutting off, tying off or worse!!!
The long hot bath was essential in order to maintain some kind of semi dignified upright mobility and meant we were able to drag our aching bodies off for a very good evening of food and wine and cycling talk to Tom and Ruth's. This was suitably rounded off with the film 'The Flying Scotsman'. Yes, a cycling film and a very good one it was too. 'Take the pain'. Put my 30 km into perspective!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.