Canvas

By snehith

Here and there

First glimpses of Europe have been pretty beautiful. I had actually painted a different picture altogether, when I thought about Europe and Munich, when I first knew I might be going there. But what I have seen is a stark different picture altogether. The tall Urban buildings have been replaced by small red rooftops buildings. The painting seems more of an abstract art. Buildings are strewn across the green countryside like how paint drops spread across the canvas when you shake a brush. Of course I might just have been seeing the country side from the top, but at least it looks different from the country side I have seen when I have flown over the United states. Huge terrains of land, sometimes rocky or sometimes completely inhabited , are what I see in the USA. But here, I have seen clusters of houses at regular intervals, surrounded by huge layers of land in different shades of green and brown, cut across by the small roads. And I have not see a beeline of vehicles on those roads, unlike what I see in the United States, no matter where ever you fly.

At the Munich airport I was seeing the silhouette of a man against the evening sky, who was sitting in the Camel Smoking Zone near Gate G13, and I saw a flight attendant waiting for her flight ,sipping a mug of beer near the duty free store, And I was imagining that probably, life here is all about that. Interwoven with what we call "social taboos" back home. But in some ways, the drive from the Landvetter airport in Gothenburg to the hotel reminded me of home. Not too many cars on the freeway. Not wide freeways also. And yeah, not every part of the freeway is completely lit all the time. And not much glitterati on the sides like huge neon sign boards or 24 hour illuminated malls. It seems Elegant, and simple.

Anyways, looking forward for the next few days here. Let me see of the next few days change my opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.