Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

Huddle

There's a tribe of guinea pigs living in the Bürgerpark's menagerie, complete with their own yard and little wooden houses. The reason I never posted a picture of them before is that their compound is protected by a large net from crows and The Buzzard. That's why there's a slight blurr in the foreground.

Today I found them huddling together kind of American football style and thought I'd try again. I have no idea why they are doing this- is it a special piggy morning ritual? Do they get a a wake- up treat the same way european top nobs had a cup of hot chocolade in bed in the 18th century? Or are they simply keeping each other warm (it was very early in the morning)?

I quite like to watch them, although my mother thinks they're just fat rats without tails. And I'm terribly sorry for all the single guinea pigs kept by my former schoolmates, sometimes with a rabbit for company. By now zoologists have found out that they're very social creatures who suffer when they're alone, and that rabbits and piggies have nothing to say to each other. They're just different species.

Last week I discovered that the local Volkshochschule, a kind of open university, is even offering classes for keeping guinea pigs!

So with this in mind, have a good time =D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.