Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Yet another red dragon

WOW! Thanks for all the hearts ans stars for the dancing damsels yesterday. The image went straight to number three in my blip list and even scraped into spotlight. Blippers sure do like insects, LOL.

Because it has been two months since I photographed insects, I soon realized that I had forgotten some of the lessons that I had learned the hard way, through experience. The main rule being that you do not try to capture dragons and butterflies in the mid afternoon sun, they are just not interested. This came to me in quiet contemplation last night, so this morning, I set off early to the stream.

Today I decided to explore down stream, as the path continued on the other side of the road. I could not get more than about 70 meters, but more than enough to nail me to the computer, processing for the next two hours. As you see from the blip, I was correct about the timing, as I actually got to minimum focus distance on this beauty.

I also found a great spider, 5 inches long in it's relaxed posture and sitting in good morning light. I can only photograph the under side, but it's a start. I am still hoping to find a golden orb weaver on a much larger web to show you, but this three feet diameter sample will do for now. I have actually seen webs 15 feet long in the past. I met another couple of farmers today, same as before, pleasant and helpful.

When travelling through the countryside of countries like Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, just to name a few, it is always a good idea to carry a packet of cigarettes and a lighter with you, whether you smoke or not. Few people have cable TV, no one goes out on a Friday night for a gallon, there are very few pleasures other than the simple things in life and smoking is one of them. Please, let's not get into a discussion of how bad it is, we all accept that.

I walk straight up to the farmer wearing a smile, shake hands (don't worry about the mud, it wipes off), introduce myself and offer a cigarette. Who could refuse a blip after that, no one has been my experience so far. Unfortunately the red dragon wins today's exalted position, but I will get him and the rest of the farming community again, no problem there.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.