Wanna play?!

Whisper is an old man. Is body is old anyway.
He is 12 years old and he has been working for all of his life - agility, herding sheep, obedience, dog dancing and whatever else we came across. He has loved every minute of it (and so have I) but his old joints and bones are beginning to feel a long life's 'wear and tear'.

But his brain is not old! He is as happy and keen to work as he always was. He can't stand if I take the young dogs out to train and just offer him a walk. Walks are no where as good as training in Whisper's point of view.

He is still competing in Heelwork To Music, but his routine is choreographed to fit what Whisper can do now and of course we can't train the same routine every day. That would be boring, so I try come up with little challenges that makes him think and which also fulfills his desire to feel that we work together, him and I.

Today I clicked him to pick up his Chuckit and do all kinds of things whilst he held in in his mouth - spin, take a bow, walk backwards, sit, down etc. It was great and I swear that Whisper laughed as much as I did! :-)

Hope you all had a great day!
Emmy & the Hazyland boys

PS. Thanks for putting the boys on the spotlight page yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.