Another one

A lovely evening, at the end of a beautiful day. Walked down to the Cauldron weir on the Water of Leith. Shame that phone technology can't capture smells, as th wild garlic was wonderful. With just my compact camera on me, I didn't manage to get a picture of the flowers that I was happy with, and so resorted to another pillar box, this one just across the old bridge at Roseburn. I suppose that makes it Coltbridge, rather than Roseburn. This post box was made by the famous Carron Company in Falkirk. Although a 250 year manufacturing tradition continues under the name Carron Phoenix, who now make sinks, the Carron Company actually went into receivership in the 1980s and lost the contract to make the boxes for the Post Office. They are still made in the area though, a few miles away at Denny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.