In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Vintage Metal Prang Watercolor Palette

I obtained this on e-Bay, cleaned up the color insert (there were brush hairs embedded in the yellow and the purple color was broken into pieces which I put back in the tin just as if it were a puzzle).
Don't know why I took such care of the innards. (Habit I guess - I used to clean my own palette like this one when I was elementary school)
I'm going to re-purpose the tin with more pans, fill them with lightfast watercolors of MY choice, and 2 brushes (1 flat; 1 round) for a custom traveling palette.

Watercolor for the Masses
German-American Louis Prang (1824-1909) is the reason art education survives in American schools. He wrote the curriculum and text books, and then provided training for the first batch of America's art teachers.
In 1856 Mr. Prang contracted with the American Crayon Company to manufacturer his non-toxic moist pan watercolor sets designed for students. They were a huge success. Prang watercolors continue to be a staple art supply in classrooms worldwide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.