Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Spring on the island

I'm in the ferry line on the way back to Seattle... Our energy is restored and we are ready for more work on the bathroom project in the city.....and Fiona!
Woke up to rain this am..... so thot I'd try to post a bit of spring color amid the grey. I did plant a few daffodils (as the deer don't eat them)but the first bush to bloom is the native red flowering currant in the background (top) . The broken tiles are adorning the sea creature drainpipe... right at the top of our wharf....such a tidy landscape- :-). ( the yew tree is fallen over......)
Might edit this later....

Edit: the flora: This is a very natural place. It is not a groomed park. We have lots of animal "habitat". :-) We try to keep the trails clear and I have planted a few daffodils (there was once long ago a daffodil "farm" on this island and surprises still appear in the woods...)and iris, and some herbs, all of which the deer don't eat. I don't have a "garden" because 1) I did not inherit my Mom's green thumb, 2) I can't see watering it, and we are not here all the time and 3) don't want an 8 foot fence for the deer and 4) it's relatively easy to get great organic vegetables on a nearby island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.