The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Liquid Zen

There is no more beautiful life than that of a carefree man;
Lack of care is truly a painless evil.

-Sophocles

Perhaps one could have a better day than I had today. But, for me, I wish not. If I were to wish for better than today, I would admit to myself that I will never be content. I do not want to be that person.

Today was glorious from the first moment to the last. For that, I am thankful. I became water logged with my youngest. She was in her glory, swimming endlessly. The sun was intense and the light, brilliant. The laughs were often and deep. The cell phone sat mostly idle, and the blackberry, ignored. Then there was the food, yes, the food. The entire day was a textbook definition of "the perfect vacation day".

I went for a swim with my daughters waterproof camera in my pocket. About 150 yards off the shoreline, there was this man-made breaker. As the waves crashed about challenging my footing, I made my way to an adjacent rock, upon which I stood....and blipped. The water was Zen like and the air was purified. It is hard to pick the perfect moment of the perfect day but this was certainly in the running.

It is quite fun in large.

I hope you all have a wonderful week.

Thank you for the overwhelmingly generous comments on yesterday's blip. It is a photo that I will carry with me in my mind to the end of my time.

I have spent very little time this week in blipdom, so I hope to catch up with all of you soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.