Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Bombus lapidaries

Today I have blipped a Red-tailed bumble bee (Bombus lapidaries), possibly a queen as it was quite large. They are difficult to tell apart from the workers who have the same colouring but the workers are much smaller. With nothing else around to compare it with I cannot be certain, except this early in the season it is more likely to be a queen. If you look large you can see the detail on its beautiful wings and lots of pollen.

I went looking for ladybirds, but I think it might be too hot for them; not that I am complaining. I saw one early this morning when I was dashing out of the door with Mr A to take him to the surgery, but it had gone when we got back. Once the morphine Mr A had been given yesterday had worn off he was in a worse state than when he went to Addenbrookes. The new super-duper tablets, which apparently are the strongest painkillers he can be given did not do anything for the pain. His GP has now given him some morphine and he is also chasing up the neurosurgeon that operated on his back in January so that they can have another look at him.

Other than that a fairly lazy day although I do have some student telephone tutorials booked for this evening. So this afternoon I shall make the most of the sunshine in case this is summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.