The Memory Keeper

By athousandwords

Sunbathing wit' my home dawg

This dog knows how to relax. We went down to the river to chill out in the sun. Luka chose to go for a bracing swim. He then decided that, as I was selfishly lounging on the only towel, he would sunbathe/ dry off on me instead.

Lazy today today, got some uni work to do but that can be finished in the sunshine. Yesterday was my planned lazy day, however this changed within a matter of minutes. I ended up going for a hack with Risky after his owner ran out of time to ride (she had been giving him a bath, though you wouldn't have been able to tell - the ungrateful sod was filthy by the time I arrived later on). Had just enough time when I got home for a quick shower before rushing off to my new job. Yes, you read that right. I FINALLY got a job. Have been training for the past few weekends but am now working part-time with supervision. I'm now officially a carer for a young adult with Cerebral Palsy. She's completely dependent, and so the work mainly consists of changing nappies and clothes, peg feeding, bathing her and cleaning her room. It's only short shifts which is perfect for me what with uni commitments and Risky - but it can be surprisingly hard work all the same! Came home late, grabbed some dinner then drove over to my gran's house to brush her mop of a bearded collie and keep my agoraphobic granddad company while my gran attends her mother's funeral in Somerset. Came home and collapsed in a heap. As I said, today will most definitely be a lazy one!

I wish I could say that no books were harmed in the taking of this photograph, however it would be a complete lie. Page 194 is now a crinkly, muddy mess, and in his excitement Luka ran off with the book in his gob following the praise he received for posing so well for my amateurish photoshoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.