Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

A WEED

I was in the garden looking for a nice flower to blip when I spotted a few dandelions. Started digging them out - tricky as you are supposed to get out all of the long taproot - but then thought what pretty flowers they have.

According to Wikipedia the dandelion plant is a beneficial weed, with a wide range of uses, and is even a good companion plant for gardening. Its taproot will bring up nutrients for shallower-rooting plants, and add minerals and nitrogen to soil. It is also known to attract pollinating insects and release ethylene gas which helps fruit to ripen. So maybe I shouldn't be digging them out.

The weather has been glorious again today - not a cloud in the sky and quite warm. So of course I decided to go to an indoor shopping centre where I spent a few happy hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.