The Shell then the Shock...

The only surprising thing I thought was going to happen today was whether I was going to make it into work on time trusting our public transport, school and nursery cogs being well oiled. Thankfully it all went to plan and I managed to get in with 5 minutes to spare.

A wee text message on the way in was the start of furthar surprises as I was told that there was an unscheduled team briefing at 10 and because I was in 5 minutes prior, the logical choice was to go straight there.

When you walk into a room and the persons present are the boss boss and two staff union* reps, you kinda get a flavour for what is happening.

Turns out we are 're-structuring' our team and we've gone into a 30 day redundancy consultation. Bit of an odd feeling really. I've been on the outskirts of similar consultations over the years but never this involved. I'm not sure how it's going to pan out as yet but I think that either way it flows will be fine. If I stay I actually quite enjoy my job. If I go, it could give me the chance to try something different.

*We have a group of people who internally are like a union but are sort of voice for the staff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.