Buzzing bees

The profusion of bees on our flowering currant bush, a Ribes of some kind, has been nearly irresistible for many days. The warmth and continuous sunshine has really suited them. There was a wonderful buzzing from the bees, intermittently interrupted by several woodpeckers knocking hard on wood across the valley. They seem to visit our trees most days, but I don't usually hear them except from a distance. But yesterday I heard one just behind our garden, hard at work.

I went to stand next to the trunk of our small rhus tree from which we hang the bird feeders, which is right next to this huge bush. I planted some years ago and haven't trimmed it at all, so that it has grown far too large and is blocking our view. I've decided to cut it back, but will wait until the abundant flowers have finished because of this wonderful scene.

Not only bees love it. Tits like bustling around at its centre as do the bullfinches, where they probably find little insects. They then line themselves up to hop over to their feeders for some sunflowers. While I was engrossed in tracking a bee, a bullfinch landed on a branch about three feet from my head. It took a few seconds to realise I was there and then fluttered away. several other birds nearly landed before swerving away at my invasion of their space.

I am getting better at recording the bees' flight, which was really my purpose, but in the end I liked this detailed close-up of one feeding inside a flower. I am wondering whether I can try setting up my tripod close to the bush and shooting remotely to eliminate shake, which I'm prone to.

I've put a few of my other shots from today on my gallery HERE. Bomble managed to get featured today as well

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.