Spring pink...

Thanks for all the lovely comments and hearts I received for yesterday's misty morning shot. Some people commented on the processing, and use of sepia. In fact the colours were more or less as it came out of the camera - the main processing was a slightly tobacco shaded graduated filter added in Lightroom, which accentuated the pale sun trying to break through the clouds.

I'm glad I took the opportunity to get out in the mist yesterday, because today has been dazzlingly clear from dawn to dusk. The morning was taken up by a family visit to the dentist - luckily no work required at the moment, though Alex will need some minor repairs to his teeth when his braces come off in June. We then had coffee at a local garden centre and purchased peat-free compost to fill some raised beds that I've bought to grow salads in.

This afternoon was spent doing various garden chores, trying to make the most of the fine weather. Amazingly, in our south-facing garden, it actually became uncomfortably hot and I had to retreat inside for a while! I spent a little time trying to photograph insects - I particularly wanted an image of a hairy-footed flower-bee - but they all promptly disappeared as soon as I got the camera out! So instead I bring you a bright and cheery picture of one of our more vivid flowering currants Ribes sanguineum 'Pulborough Scarlet', a spring shrub that always makes me happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.