Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Argaladhytta to Coarvihytta via Balvasshytta

A biggish day today, only 10km to Balvasshytta, but that hut only sleeps four, so we need to continue on to Coarvihytta a further 8km.

Allegedly Balvasshytta is in a very scenic location, but you wouldn't have known it today. Low cloud hid most of the scenery so with no distractions we covered the 10km to Balvasshytta in just over three hours. The next leg to Coarvihytta required a 6.5km crossing of a lake - Balvatnet. With poor visibility it was essential to stay on a bearing of 40 degrees, basically you could see nothing but white.

The lead skier headed out compass in hand attempting to stay on the bearing, while the skier at the back double checked to ensure the bearing was true. We got there in the end, but the discovery that transceivers interfere with compasses led to a few shouts of "that's not 40 degrees, why do you keep going right?"

Once we'd crossed the lake we were only about 1.5km from the hut and the cloud started to lift, the views became visible, it was turning into a nice afternoon. Various people stopped to enjoy the view I chose a point to have a seat, and a drink from my flask and just enjoy the view. Little did I know that Mick in front had spotted me just behind, turned the corner in front of me and decided to leave the pulk for me to pick up. Honest I really didn't know it was there! So when Rancidand passed me supping my drink he turned the corner and there was the pulk just sitting there waiting for him - Sorry Rancid.

That evening we met our first group since leaving Trygvebu - 3 Brits! From Wolverhampton - a 72 year old bloke and his son and a 65 year old lady - and we thought we were old.

Today's Photo: It's the ladies of the group again - Kathy & Fiona, this time making us all pancakes - very useful accoutrements these ladies are turning out to be!

Rancidand's version of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.