Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Ny-Sulitjelma fjellstue to Bodø

This would be the third time I'd descended the road from Ny-Sulitjelma to Sulitjelma. The first time was an icy nightmare. The second was less of an icy nightmare I had my skins on all the way down and there was a level of control - not a lot, but a level.

Today I debated about putting skins on, but in the end decided to keep them off. The word from Philip and Fiona who'd come up this road a couple of days ago was that there was a reasonable level of snow cover on the road.

My problem is a complete inability to snowplough and therefore control my speed downhill. On wide open slopes I can get away with drifting uphill to slow myself, on a narrow road with steep drop offs there's not the same option or space for manoeuvre.

Anyway there was a bit more snow on the road than previous occasions so there was an element of fun on the descent, a couple of head plants and quite a few occasions where I just lost control of my speed with the expected results. But hey it was great fun - and I wasn't last down!

We had a good half hour in hand for our 9:00 bus to Fauske, so hanging around we saw the bus come into the village and drop the kids off at the school. It then pulled up to us only to let us know there wasn't a 9:00 bus - not sure why, but unless we were willing to hang around to 12:00 the only option was to arrange a taxi. At this point Philip bade us farewell. He hadn't been able to get a flight back to Manchester today so was staying out for a couple of days and flying back on Tuesday. He headed off to the mines and mining museum, a happy bunny.

Our taxi eventually arrived, dropped us at Fauske railway station a bite to eat in the cafe, RCB found a Hooded Crow on the railway line and we then caught the train to Bodø. An enjoyable shower and then a few brown beers courtesy of Rancidand in a pre-birthday celebration, then our traditional final meal at Pepe's Pizza.

Today's Photo: Me and Philip having a bit fun with the steep drop off sign.

Rancidand's version of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.