Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Comma

In one of those cyclical things that Blipfoto is so good at revealing, I found myself walking in Buck Wood a year to the day since I was last there, following more or less the same route.. This was the first chance I'd had to get out for a decent walk in this fine weather, and it seems it was too warm for the birds, but warm enough for the butterflies.

I've been seeing Small Tortoiseshell and Peacock butterflies for a couple of weeks, but today I saw my first Brimstone and Commas of the year, neither of which I'd seen at all last year. This Comma was kind enough to pause at the side of the path, just as I was leaving the wood to return over the canal and river back to Baildon.  Otherwise, I probably would have brought you a leaping squirrel, or a teasel meadow.

a pause
on a long walk
comma butterfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.