earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Not a One Trick Pony?

Several times recently I've been determined to try to post something other than a tree or a landscape, but each time I find myself with a trademark shot that proves somehow irresistible. I love these winter trees with a passion, and so it seems do you. Thank you so much for the wonderful reception to yesterday's shot, which I renamed A Summer Evening in March. To those who were generous with their hearts, I especially appreciated them for a shot I really liked a lot myself. There is often nothing deliberate about the processing. An image emerges which just grabs me - as this one did. I struggle to articulate the technicalities of why, but you all seemed to pick up on - like I did myself - a surreal, magical, almost fairytale quality to it. I love it when that happens!

It's been a long day at the office and I took this shot on my early ride in by my scenic short route. I took some nice sunset pictures on my way back home using the long route, but I think these beautiful beasts deserve to be blipped today. This one is for Alice in Blipland, who seems to have the knack of getting animals to cooperate for her. I have no such power. I wanted to get their faces, and hopefully a close-up, but they just didn't want to play ball with me. They were far more interested in their breakfast than my camera. But the light is pretty amazing and it's never a bad idea to call in the cute factor on occasion!

It was another beautiful Spring day, but cycling back this evening was distinctly cooler than of late, with the wind picking up and some clouds rolling in. Forrest won't be too upset. He says that this weather is wasted on March (as the cricket season hasn't yet started). My Latvian colleague at work has refused to spend any time out in the sun at all because he doesn't want his body to be fooled into thinking it's summer. He's been over here long enough now to know how fickle our weather is. When I got back home I bumped into our new neighbour - after living next door to her for a good 6 weeks (a rather sad indictment on the busyness of modern life) - and she said it was set to snow on Monday. I've been telling people that all week, but I was genuinely joking.

Actually, a couple of days of snow would be fantastic. My legs need a few days rest I think, and I could have my mega blip catch-up. As it is, I am unashamedly going to stand you lot up for a better date tonight!! It's the Ilkley Cycling Club first birthday party, and I'm already running late. Catch up with you soon. Promise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.