an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

1863

i like to imagine what was happening, day-to-day, as this plant was first being mounted in 1863. the civil war, among other things.

had to remount this sucker today and it was a fun, yet time-consuming task.

i am not sure i ever fully explained what i do at BRIT (botanical research institute of texas) when I volunteer there. I mount plant specimens! i find it all rather fascinating and fun.

it does make me wonder (as most things do) if I am following the right path. I have such a passion for science but I feel like I missed the boat as far as studying it goes. now I must dabble.

been looking at things to get involved in when I go to austin. of course I will continue to be involved in texas 4000, but i am thinking of volunteering with bat conservation international.

also, sam tells me UT has a large herbarium. we will see if they are interested in a little help.

----

I am going to start doing some portraits of people at BRIT and other related BRIT things on thursdays and some fridays when I am there. it is truly an incredible bunch of people with such passion and enthusiasm. i feel very peaceful when i am there and i can only feel grateful for that. since I will eventually be leaving them (though I certainly plan to pop in for a few hours any time I am up here) i want to make sure I capture it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.