The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Derek Is A Weatherman ... A Weatherman ...

Well .. you know the rest!

I've had a rather lovely day today with my family.

My dad was invited along to Pyle Garden Centre as a guest at their official reopening. As he can't drive, due to his attempts to cut his toenails with a lawnmower last week, I was chauffeur for the day. Which was quite cool, as I rarely get to go with him to his talks etc.

Pyle Garden Centre closed around Christmas time, and was bought back from the chain and returned to the same family run business it was at first, back in 1974. It was an interesting back story, and clearly a labour of love for those concerned. I remember when I was younger being taken there by my parents when they were buying various flowers for the back garden; Pyle garden centre was the garden centre to visit, and had the best corned beef pie in Wales.

Derek Brockway, our local BBC Weather Presenter officially opened the store in the morning, and he and my father have history! They have worked together on the odd gardening project here and there, and the Welsh national weather forecast has come live from the allotment on one occasion. He took no time at all in ribbing the old man on his odd coloured socks and sandals!

As I say it was a fun day in a lovely atmosphere. I wish Jayne James and the rest of the James family every success and good fortune in the running of the garden centre, it's been part of the woodwork here in South Wales, I think it's legacy is in safe hands!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.