Latitude Living

By QueSeraSara

A Look that Penetrates

This photo taken through the backyard gate is reminiscent of the first time I saw my dog Ralph. Eight years ago, March 2004, I was living in Americus, Georgia. I had just assumed new job responsibilities that were going to keep me more office bound and reduce my travel. I was thinking about having a pet and shared this desire with my friend, Todd, who was visiting at the time. I coaxed him to come with me to the local Humane Society. Walking through the corridor of pens with an assortment of dogs hopping against their wire gates - I spotted Ralph - then named "Donut", with his soulful black eyes, bushy white hair, terrier mix face, and gangly 8 months old puppy body. He was just looking at us. No barking, no jumping - just calmly watching us through the fence wires. It was love at first sight. Since then, Ralph has lived in three different countries, USA, Vietnam and Haiti. He has recovered from a car accident, that shatter his pelvis and fractured his hips. He has been a faithful, fun, and affectionate buddy. He is also the reason that Kathy came into my life - but that is a longer story. I am so grateful to be Ralph's person.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.