Dawn over the mudflats

New Zealand Summertime officially ended at 0200 am this morning. Consequently, I am no longer running in the dark, when I have my usual start time. I was looking forward to this, and more to see and photograph.

However, heavy dark clouds blocked the actual sunrise, and with the tide out, the beach offered little. At the northern end I did walk out through muddy sand and shallow water in an attempt to get close enough to a gaggle of Canadian Geese. They were unfortunately spooked by some ducks which took flight when I was still well away; the geese walked into the water and swam off.

The one oystercatcher was almost as shy, as were the few herons. Birds, therefore, were off the menu for today. So I'm left with this delicately coloured dawn sky over the grey mud and sand of the flat bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.