Kuifje

By Kuifje

Sticks Up!

Many moons ago, when I was a nipper, I used to play a rather posh sport. Reserved for the grammar schools, posh southerners and a small enclave of Cheshire; Lacrosse was played by apparently few, yet nationally it held its own.

For the guys, it was tough sport, labelled the fastest on two legs, with full body contact, plenty of padding and broken bones.
For the girls it was considered more genteel and certainly a softer, more elegant game.

Complete rubbish, when I used to play it was fast, furious and the only difference between the men and ladies was that the ladies managed fewer broken bones without any padding!

So, four years ago, I got the opportunity to return to my childhood somewhat when I discovered that Den Haag had their very own ladies team, The First Ladies. A relatively new sport here, Lacrosse is gradually gathering momentum and the European Championships are due very soon.

I did join the Ladies for a time, my age is now somewhat telling on my lack of pace and stamina, yet surprisingly enough, although rather rusty, my stick skills were on par with the other 20-something sports science students!!

Today the ladies were playing at home against Amsterdam. Not a win unfortunately, but a frantic and close second half.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.