Somewhere in the night

After yesterday's exertions I laid low at Danny's most of the day, leaving Mr H to go out on a blip-wander in Antwerp. In the evening I had a wee solo gig in a venue quite close by, so we walked there. It was in this old building in a quiet little square off a main street. Several more old friends turned up - it was so good to see them.

Since this is a back-blip, uploaded a couple of days later, I now know that a very dear friend of mine passed peacefully away at his home in Oxfordshire around the time that I must have been singing the last song of the evening. It was written by Robb Johnson for a very different occasion but some of the words seem to fit.

A circle of friends, somewhere in the night
Guitars and champagne in a circle of light
Who'd have believed that we'd still be here?
Best drink a toast to the next fifty years...

There's a casualty list of the names we once knew
And the lips that we've kissed leave their scars and tattoos
I miss you so much and I drink too much wine
But the hard winter sun makes everything shine.....

And the years come and go
The years come and go
Like sunlight and snow


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.