MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Developing Theme: Energy

Alright, I know this is a horrible photo, but Friday got away on me! I wanted to highlight the design of homes and such, but this photo doesn't really express it. Que triste.

Anyway, the majority of buildings (I would say high-rises aside) are built to have natural ventilation and lighting. And lots of it. We always have our windows and doors open (with the iron gates locked, of course) and there's always air, and sounds, and bugs floating in and out. We use lights at night and ceiling fans pretty much all the time, but have no air conditioning. It's quite nice actually. You have to look beyond the bugs- a fact I didn't recognize until my sister came to visit. I get 1-3 bug bites a day, but I don't notice them most of the time. I much prefer the fresh air and a greater connection with nature- afforded through a minimal use of energy and optimal use of building design.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.