Kendall is here

By kendallishere

You are the change that is needed.

I took nearly 300 pictures of an important march and rally today, protesting the impending reinstatement of a Portland police officer who shot and killed Aaron Campbell, an unarmed African-American man, last year. Full story is here, including a statement from our Mayor, who, along with the Chief of Police, opposes reinstating the policeman. Today's action was, for a change, not organized by Occupy Portland but by the Albina Ministerial Coalition.

Of all the pictures I took, the one that moves me most is this one. Here is a fine-looking Black man of a certain age, gazing with a beatific smile at the mostly-white people parading to protest racial profiling. Something is right with this picture.

If you are a glutton for my photojournalism and have nothing you'd rather do with your time, you can see a slide show of forty-four more pictures of this action here.  I have just finished work on the article about the rally, and my report on the reading group (blipped two days ago) is here. But enough about me. I'm going to indulge myself with reading your journals now. I might even comment on a couple.

Seven-minute video edited of this event here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.